I’m Going Back!!

After days, weeks and months of praying and deliberating, I have decided to go back to Honduras this summer. For my counseling program, we have to do three internships. For my first and second internship, I have been working with a play therapy center locally in Cleveland. I have loved the children that I have been able to see on a regular basis. Watching the change in them after what seems like something so insignificant, is incredibly inspiring to me. I’m thankful that I’ve had this opportunity.

This summer I will be able to embark on the final part of this journey of grad school – my third internship. My program is in Mental Health Counseling, and my emphasis has been on working with non-profits. This means I have been given opportunities to take classes relating to this field. The opportunity to go to Honduras is part of this emphasis. I will get to spend three and a half weeks working at an orphanage in Honduras, practically applying the tools and techniques I have been learning here. I will be able to adapt them to Spanish, to the children of Honduras, and to the completely different culture of Roatan itself. I will also be utilizing my little working knowledge of non-profits, and help Paul and Kim Dyar, missionaries in Honduras for five years now, with their church and ministry on Roatan.

I’m really looking forward to this opportunity to serve with these people that I have begun to build relationships with. Some of this experience will be completely new, and some of it will be like getting right back on the bike. I’m excited about all of it! I know that God has had this planned for me since the beginning, even though I am just now figuring it all out. ๐Ÿ™‚

Please keep me in your prayers as I work this out, and as I leave. I will keep you posted as things get closer. My friend, Kate, also introduced me to this site that she has used previously to raise money for mission work that she has done in Romania! Please support financially if you can as well – being a grad student and traveling out of the country is rather costly!

I appreciate all of the support that you all provide for me – spiritually, emotionally, intellectually, relationally and more! I could not do any of this without you! I love you all!

http://www.gofundme.com/doqa4

2 Comments »

  1. rlbreflections Said:

    Lydia, I’m so excited this has worked out again. . . wonderful of Paul and Kim to welcome you back. I am also thankful that it’s not the WHOLE summer. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think I can handle 3-1/2 weeks of missing you.

  2. Yulia Z Said:

    Dear Lydia, I was excited to read your e-diary. And I’m completely hit by your courage and devotion to helping people! You are so great and I’m fell very proud knowing you =) I’ll pray for you and your safe trip. Your ukrainian sister with lots of love, Yulia


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

